Taurus Yoga

Taurus rules the neck and throat (including the larynx, vocal chords, tonsils and jugular vein), thyroid, chin, lower jaw, ears and tongue.

Prana vayu apana  //  Ayurvedic dosha kapha

Meditation : heart chakra / chanting YAM (YUM) for anahata chakra

Pranayama : kumbhaka (sustained breath)

Take a seated position. Inhale deeply to fill the body, then exhale slowly. Find a comfortable pace. When you’re ready, inhale to a count. At the top of your inhale, lungs full, hold your breath for the same count. Gently release the breath, exhaling once again for the same count. Inhale and exhale through the nose. After 5-10 minutes, return to your normal breath and observe. Eventually work towards a 20 second inhale, 20 second hold, 20 second exhale – one breath per minute. For the optional mudra, or sacred bodily position, associated with kumbhaka: touch the tip of the ring finger to the tip of the thumb, other fingers extended. Hold both hands up, palms facing forward, elbows bent at 90 degrees and level with the shoulders.


  1. bhujangasana (cobra pose)
  2. mayurasana (peacock pose)
  3. salabhasana (locust pose)
  4. dhanurasana (bow pose)
  5. turning of the neck in safe directions. Look up “positional release therapy” for the neck

Back to Yoga Main Page